Georgia Congressional Delegation Fights for Specialty Crops

Abbey Taylor Industry News Release, NAFTA, Top Posts

Rep. Austin Scott

Contact: Rachel Ledbetter, 202-225-6531

WASHINGTON, D.C. – Today, members of the Georgia Congressional Delegation, led by U.S. Representative Austin Scott (GA-08), sent a letter to Ambassador Robert Lighthizer, United States Trade Representative. The letter urges a separate domestic industry provision for perishable and seasonable products in antidumping and countervailing duty proceedings through North American Free Trade Agreement (NAFTA) renegotiations.

In recent years, the growth of Mexico’s fruit and vegetable sector has led to an excessive amount of dumping of fruits and vegetables into the United States below the cost of production. Mexico continues to unfairly subsidize its growers, making it very difficult for many specialty crop producers to remain competitive. Today’s letter urges the Trump Administration to address this discrepancy while the NAFTA agreement is being renegotiated.

“Mexico’s unfair trade practices have become unsustainable for Georgia’s fresh fruit and vegetable sector, and it is vital that the Administration considers using more near-term remedial tools to help correct these practices,” wrote the members. “We applaud the Administration’s support for U.S. perishable and seasonal sectors and stand ready to work with the Administration on improving trade remedy coverage for these sectors and taking the other near-term steps needed to alleviate the Mexican unfair trading practices that are putting Georgia and other regions of our nation’s important fresh fruit and vegetable industry at risk.”

Supporters of today’s letter include the Georgia Agribusiness Council, the Georgia Blueberry Growers Association, Georgia Farm Bureau, the Georgia Fruit and Vegetable Growers Association, and the Georgia Watermelon Association.

Joining Rep. Scott on today’s letter were Representatives Rick Allen (GA-12), Sanford Bishop (GA-02), Buddy Carter (GA-01), Doug Collins (GA-09), Drew Ferguson (GA-03), Karen Handel (GA-06), Jody Hice (GA-10), and David Scott (GA-13).

Click here to read the letter.

Share this Post

Sponsored Content